Georges HOT

Painter and Plastic Artist
of the Lyrical Abstraction

Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur

Médaille d'Argent de la Ville de Paris

871348E8-2D90-4177-8BD0-BF5BF338C4FD_1_1

« Georges Hot's painting brings me a profound satisfaction that I would dream of translating into movies... if movies still offer us this possibility »

Jean Delannoy,Filmmaker

Georges Hot was born in Rodez in France in 1920. After higher studies at the University of Paris, he obtained his law degree and began his artistic training at the National School of Decorative Arts in Paris as well as in the academies of Montparnasse. After having spent a long time in Africa (Tunisia, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Benin...), he settled in the early 1980s in the Alpes Maritimes.

His pictorial approach is linked to lyrical abstraction and expressionism, with surrealist influences. A fellow student of the sculptor Louis Chavignier, he was a friend of the painters Istrati, Hartung, Dumitresco, Marie Raymond... with whom he often exhibited. He presented numerous exhibitions in France (Arcadia and Ariane galleries) and abroad (USA, Germany, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia and the African continent) and his works appear in numerous collections.

Member of the Salon d'Automne and member of the Salon des Indépendants, he regularly participated in the Salon "Comparaisons". He was general secretary of the association "Défense des Arts Plastiques", organizer of the "Meetings of Contemporary Artists" with Hans Hartung as Honorary President.

PRODUCT - Copie.jpg

Georges HOT

Peintre et Plasticien de l'Abstraction Lyrique

Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur

Médaille d'Argent de la Ville de Paris

"La peinture de Georges Hot me donne de profondes satisfactions, que je rêverais de transposer au cinéma si le cinéma nous en donnait encore la possibilité"

Jean Delannoy, Cinéaste 

Georges Hot est né à Rodez (France) en 1920. Après des études supérieures à l'Université de Paris, il obtient sa licencie en droit et débute sa formation artistique à l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris ainsi que dans les académies de Montparnasse. Après avoir longtemps séjourné à l'étranger (Tunisie, Côte d'Ivoire, Sénégal, Burkina Faso, Bénin), il s'est installé au début des années 80 dans les Alpes Maritimes. 

Sa démarche picturale se rattache à l'Abstraction Lyrique et à l'Expressionisme, avec des influences surréalistes. Condisciple du sculpteur Louis Chavignier il fut ami et collaborateurs des peintres Istrati, Hartung, Dumitresco, Marie Raymond, mère d'Yves Klein, avec lesquels il a exposé à de nombreuses occasions. Sociétaire du Salon d'Automne et du Salon des Indépendants, il participe aussi au Salon "Comparaisons". 

Il réalise de nombreuses expositions en France (galeries Arcadia et Ariane Paris) et à l'étranger (Etats Unis, Allemagne, Italie, Espagne, Suisse, Tunisie et continent africain) et ses œuvres figurent dans de nombreuses collections. Il fut secrétaire général de l'association "Défense des Arts Plastiques" avec Hans Hartung en Président d'Honneur.

© All the paintings presented on this site are protected for royalties by the ADAGP.